Food From Our Life:

I have had a bit of a look around this lovely baking blog and there are lots of delicious recipes that we may never have heard of here in Oz, so I figured I’d share her ideas as well

Originally posted on Baker on the Rise:

Rugelach

I’m baking and learning about new confections with the TWD baking group. This Tuesday’s recipe is rugelach. I had never eaten it or made it before. I wasn’t even sure how to pronounce it (the dictionary says rŭg’ə-ləKH). What I have learned is that rugelach are traditional Jewish pastry-like cookies. The fun part is they can have endless flavor combinations. A cream cheese dough is spread with jam, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, then filled with nuts, dried fruit, or even chocolate. Rugelach cookies can be rolled into a crescent shape or rolled and cut pinwheel style. As with every TWD blog post you can find the recipe at this week’s hosts: The Urban Hiker and My Baking Heart.

So this baking adventure took me three days. The first day I made the cream cheese dough in my KitchenAid mixer.  I had no problems here and wrapped it well and let it sit in the refrigerator…

View original 500 more words

Leave a Reply

