Aunty Amy’s Apricot Loaf

I recently made a banana loaf and took a photo of it and posted it on Facebook, a very dear family friend who I have known all my life asked me about my Mum’s apricot loaf recipe, so  with a bit of investigating this was forwarded to me from Mum, Aunty Amy is my Grandmother’s cousin & Grandma is 93 this year so this is a classic, well tried recipe and I have to say that initially I was a bit disappointed – the next day how ever, this loaf ROCKED!! So much so, that it didn’t last too long at all!

We were over at Mum & Dad’s on Anzac Day and we were going to make banana loaf, but thought we’d give this a go, apparently this recipe is old – slow combustion oven old – it was all in imperial measurements and we think that the temperature & cooking times were possibly for a slow combustion oven as it said to cook in a moderate oven for 2 hours – it only took an hour to cook in a fan forced oven at 150°C. For me now a moderate oven is about 180°C and I think it would have cooked it too quickly at that temp, obviously you know your oven so play it by ear and see how you go.

The consistency is quite runny once you add the fruit/juice mix and becomes quite sloppy – don’t lose heart, that’s exactly what is supposed to happen. I think if you decided to bake it as a cake then it may need a little longer, but really I do think it works best as a loaf, but that’s just me.

Now it turns out we found another Apricot loaf recipe so I am going to trial that too and post it over the next few days/week. For this recipe however you will need:

3 cups SR Flour

250g or ½ lb butter

2 eggs

1 cup milk

460g or 1 lb raisins

2 tsp treacle or golden syrup

60g or 2-3oz Almonds – chopped

180g or 6oz dried apricots

1 cup raw sugar

Zest  of 2 oranges

1 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

2 heaped Tbsp coffee

1 cup orange juice

Method.

Cream butter and sugar, add eggs, coffee & cinnamon, in the meantime boil the raisins and apricots in orange juice for about 5 mins and allow to cool slightly. Add the flour to the butter mix and mix gently, slowly add the milk and when it’s all combined add the apricot mix.

I divided the mix between two greased and lined loaf tins & baked at 150°C for an hour. When you take it out of the oven, let it sit for 5 or so minutes before you remove and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

2 thoughts on “Aunty Amy’s Apricot Loaf

    • No worries at all, I might get cracking and make the other one tomorrow, I was amazed at really how easy it is and extremely tasty. Thanks for checking out my blog xx

Leave a Reply

